rootdanax.blogg.se

Beersmith golden promise
Beersmith golden promise








beersmith golden promise

Here’s the writeup from the brewday last week (28/02/14). I recently blogged about my intention to brew a Texas Brown Ale. I’ll be transferring to secondary and adding the dry hops for 4 days.ģ0/04/14 Dry hop. Pitched the West Coast Style Ale Yeast at 20C. Decided to stick with a stronger beer (albeit less of it). The hop stopper kept blocking up and I resorted to using a sanitised spoon to help things along.

beersmith golden promise

This is consistent with the truly terrible run off from the boiler. Although on further inspection of the FV once it had settled, there was a couple of litres of hop matter. I collected 20L of wort, post boil, with an OG of 1.072. Strike temp of 75C, 15.0L liquor for 6.00kg grain. Malt Miller West Coast Style Ale Yeast (dry) 1pkt of 15g The numbers below represent what actually happened, rather than the calculated recipe.Ġ.20kg Golden Promise Pale Ale Malt (Simpsons)ģ0g Ahtanum (pellets) (5.2% Alpha) minutes from the end (boil)ģ0g Bravo (leaf) (17.3% Alpha) minutes from the end (boil)ģ0g Centennial (pellets) (11.2% Alpha) minutes from the end (boil)ģ0g Falconer’s Flight (pellets) (10.8% Alpha) minutes from the end (boil)ħ0g Ahtanum (pellets) (5.2% Alpha) dry hopħ0g Falconer’s Flight (pellets) (10.8% Alpha) dry hop This happens to be a brew that uses up a few odds and ends, and the resulting beer could be either inspired, or a messy waste of time, and hops. I like to read up on beer style and then work my own recipe around that. The malt bill is a little busy, and not my usual approach to brewing. I fancied brewing a biggish IPA of around 7.4%, akin to the strength of Magic Rock’s Cannonball, but the similarities end there. *A myotonic goat, otherwise known as the fainting goat, is a domestic goat whose muscles freeze for roughly 10 seconds when the goat feels panic. Pitched the dry yeast at 20C.Ġ9/07 1.024 – bottled 18L / batch primed with 78g sugar. I collected 19L of wort, post boil, with an OG of 1.057. Edit: It finished much higher – yet still within the BJCP style guidelines – at 1.024, making this a 4.4% beer. Hopefully it’ll finish nearer 1.018 and the 5.2% abv stout that I’m shooting for. I’m not sure what the final gravity will be, and the FG should (hopefully) finish a lot higher that the 1.012, but BeerSmith didn’t seem to account for the lactose, neither did it seem to adjust the FG when I raised the mash temp.

beersmith golden promise beersmith golden promise

Didn’t take a reading for pre-boil wort. 60 minute boil.Īt 15 minutes from the end of the boil, I added the milk sugar to the copper (which I had dissolved into 1/2 litre of boiled water), along with the immersion chiller and protofloc. Strike temp of 80C, 12.4L liquor for 4.83kg grain. For this reason, I’m calling this a Malted Milk Stout.ģ0g Amarillo (leaf) (8.7% Alpha) minutes from the end (boil) It’s my first attempt at a sweet stout, and after having tasted the wort, I decided that the amber malt has added a subtle biscuit flavour, and hope this carries through into the finished beer. I’m hoping that someone will put me straight if I’m wrong here, but I’m thinking the lactose puts this beer into the Specialty Beers category as it contains a “ non-core brewing ingredient at a level intended to impart a distinctive and discernible flavour or character“. I’m a bit last minute with this brew, but it should be ok in time for the 31st July deadline. This will be my entry for the Thornbridge/Waitrose Great British Homebrew challenge. I’ll be transferring to secondary and adding the dry hops. I collected 19L of wort, post boil, with an OG of 1.051. Strike temp of 74C, 11.4L liquor for 4.37kg grain. Safale US-05 Ale Yeast (dry) 1pkt of 11.5g You can find the source of that interesting information and other Tour-lingo, here.ģ0g Citra (pellet) (14.4% Alpha) minutes from the end (boil)Ĩ0g Citra (pellet) (14.4% Alpha) minutes from the end (aroma)ġ00g Citra (pellet) (14.4% Alpha) dry hop But, went with Feed Zone “a designated section of the race where riders pick up musettes from the soigneurs”.

#BEERSMITH GOLDEN PROMISE FREE#

They tend to hang onto it for longer than necessary to get a free tow for a hundred metres or so“. I quite liked Sticky Bidon “ the term used to describe what happens when a rider gets a new water bottle from the team car. I thought I should stick with the pack and use a Tour de France inspired name. This was my second brewday in a 24 hour period, just so I can join in the with the Leeds International Beer Festival, homebrew competition! Very basic recipe, very brief write up.










Beersmith golden promise